Questions about Snowflake asked by my Students on Udemy (Q16-Q20)

Cristian Scutaru
3 min readAug 19, 2024

These are all real-life questions I’ve been asked by students in the Q&A sections of my Udemy courses about Snowflake. I’ll just keep the anonymity of the sender and I’ll only reformat them a bit, to make them more readable. My previous post: Questions about Snowflake asked by my Students on Udemy (Q11-Q15).

[Q16] Is there a better way to do a bulk insert or update in Snowflake SQL based on business logic? Could you give some pointers for that?

COPY INTO is the data ingestion “beast” in Snowflake.

You may find it disguised with micro-batches in Snowpipe Streaming or Snowpipe API, or when using the Kafka connector.

Have a look at the parallel loading capabilities, that’s where it could be very performant in Snowflake, with split files.

[Q17] Is there a FOR ALL loop available just to update all at once, like in Oracle? I know MERGE is an option but apart from that is there a FOR ALL or similar structure available? I am just trying to evaluate alternate options, that is why checking with…

--

--

Cristian Scutaru

World-class expert in Snowflake Data Cloud. Former Snowflake "Data Superhero". SnowPro SME (Subject Matter Expert). 5x SnowPro certification exams.